the truth about poly

If I were to turn back time would I have decided not to go to poly, seeing as now I’m afraid I can’t get into the course I want with my poly education?

Well maybe I wouldn’t have known this was the course I wanted had I not gone to poly. Who ask me to like a course thats crazy tough to get in :/

Sometimes I feel like poly students are being punished for knowing what they want to do. I’m not going to stand here and say that most poly graduates really made the most out of the course. there are many who recognized hey this isn’t what I want. I prefer this. Maybe I don’t know what I want, but at least I know what I don’t want. My dad says education never goes to waste. Well, but it may very well cost you. Poly education isn’t easy. If anything I think its pretty darn difficult. The idiot I was thought that I’d be a big fish in a small pond. God no. There are so many impressive people in poly, its ridiculous.

As I approach this very very scary transition between poly and god knows where, I can’t help but wonder if i had shortchanged myself. I really do pride myself on the experiences I had in the 3 years. I have been exposed to so many things. My internship helped me understand how healthcare works here in Singapore. Realizing its flaws and constraints, and still wanting to be part of the solution. The people I have met. The dialogues and forums I have been to. Realizing that life isn’t easy for people who can’t keep up with the rat race. There is such a thing as excessive meritocracy that serves to inhibit social mobility. what??? I have learnt so much in the past 3 years. I have alot to thank my poly education for. Yet I can’t help but feel all these experience I have isn’t gonna help me get into UNI. People with those L1R4 that got into my course would most likely have aspirations to further their studies. like Duh. Yet our chances are slashed because there’s not enough UNI places for us. Seriously, if I ever get into a place of power I would fight for poly students. We deserve more recognition. We deserve to be recognized for having the clarity in knowing what we want to do. I ABSOLUTELY AM NOT INTERESTED IN HAVING A JC VS POLY DEBATE. I’m just saying I feel its a trait of poly students that is underlooked.

Who’s to say I would have done well in A levels. Lots of O level high flyers do surprisingly badly for A’s. And once you do badly for A’s, you are nowhere. You can’t work in a real profession. You can’t make it into a uni of choice. But deep down, I’m pretty certain I would have done alright? I don’t know. I can’t keep torturing myself.

I’m just gonna take a step at a time. And be hopeful. 🙂 that I will end up exactly where I’m supposed to.

 

teeny relevant-ish update: straits times 04/06/2013 <<More JC students switch to polytechnics>>

“Seventeen per cent of youngsters go on to the local universities, the ministry’s statistics show. For their junior college equivalents, the rate is over 70%.”

 

“If a student finds something that he or she is really interested in, then the As and Bs will follow.”

Leave a Reply

